|3.11| First Snow

Hello! My name is Marianna and I’m a 16-year-old girl from Estonia, and this is the first post on my photography blog. Thanks for reading, by the way! Today I’ve also got some wisdom to share with you.

You know how everyone’s so excited about fall and Halloween up until the 31st of October, and on the 1st of November everybody suddenly forgets about it and starts talking about Christmas? Well, that’s exactly what our weather did, even though Estonia doesn’t actually have Halloween. On the 2nd of November it started snowing, and it hasn’t stopped since (well I hope not, I really like winter). So naturally, on the 3rd of November, I decided to go outside and take some pictures.

It never snows in November, so I took it as a sign to make my first post about the first snow. On these pictures you can see the little bush that grows under my balcony and some artistic knots that I really appreciate.

This first post of mine and the Halloween/Christmas meme are not the only metaphor, or the only ties I’ve got to this first snow. A lot of people associate seasons with change, specifically the time when one season changes into another, like autumn and winter. For me, this week was filled with change – I switched schools. I didn’t feel happy in my new school, so I went ahead and did something about it, to put it short. I returned to my old school. And as soon as I did, it started snowing.

So, let this little change of mine serve as a little wisdom to you – if you’re not happy about something, if you don’t feel like you’re doing the right thing or being in a right place – don’t be afraid to change it. It takes courage to change something in your life. I would also say that it also takes a lot of determination. You have to be sure that you want it. Take me for example – I wanted to go back to my old school ever since I’d stepped foot into my new one, but I wasn’t sure that it would be practical. Now I’m really happy! Sometimes, changing something might not seem rational, especially changing back, but you really have to listen to your heart and do what’s best for you. And what’s best for you won’t feel like you need to change, that I can guarantee!

Thank you for reading and I hope to see you soon!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

